

University of Alberta Students' Union

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

10 June 2021 11:00am Google Hangout

ATTENDANCE

NAME	PROXY	PRESENT
Julia Catherine Villoso		Y
Aadhavya Sivakumaran		Y
Maria Julia Nicole De Grano		Y
Nathan Brandwein		Y
Serena Manansala Yabut		Y
Christian Fotang		Y
Abner Monteiro, Chair		Y
Courtney Graham		N/A
Thomas Banks		N/A

MINUTES (NC 2021-02)

2021-02/1	INTRODUCTION	
2021-02/1a	Call to Order MONTEIRO: Called the meeting to order at 11:00am.	
2021-02/1b	Approval of Agenda	
2021-02/1c	Approval of Minutes	
2021-02/1d	Chair's Business	
2021-02/2	QUESTION/DISCUSSION PERIOD	
2021-02/3	COMMITTEE BUSINESS	
2021-02/3a	Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation Committee	

	MONTEIRO: Inquired as to what criteria the Committee would like to use in making appointments.	
	 YABUT: Suggested that the Committee should prefer candidates with tailored cover letters. BRANDWEIN: Suggested that the Committee should not disqualify a candidate based on a lack of experience. YABUT: Proposed that the Committee request cover letters from individuals that did not submit them with their application. 	
	BRANDWEIN: Expressed concern that Magesh did not customise their cover letter and Melissa did not submit one. Proposed selecting Danielle and extending the application deadline.	
	YABUT/BRANDWEIN MOVED to appoint Danielle Lapatack to Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation Committee. CARRIED	
2021-02/3b	Translation Committee	
	DEGRANO/YABUT MOVED to appoint Sophia Estrada and Veronica Ortiz-Zelada to Translation Committee.	
	CARRIED	
2021-02/3c		
2021-02/3c	CARRIED	
2021-02/3c	CARRIED University Senate YABUT: Suggested selecting Kyle, Milan, and Tamid given their strong cover letters and demonstrated abilities to bring a unique perspective to the Senate. Expressed concern that the Amlan re-submit the same application as	
2021-02/3c	CARRIED University Senate YABUT: Suggested selecting Kyle, Milan, and Tamid given their strong cover letters and demonstrated abilities to bring a unique perspective to the Senate. Expressed concern that the Amlan re-submit the same application as last year without improvement or updates.	
2021-02/3c	CARRIED University Senate YABUT: Suggested selecting Kyle, Milan, and Tamid given their strong cover letters and demonstrated abilities to bring a unique perspective to the Senate. Expressed concern that the Amlan re-submit the same application as last year without improvement or updates. BRANDWEIN: Agreed with Yabut.	
2021-02/3c	CARRIED University Senate YABUT: Suggested selecting Kyle, Milan, and Tamid given their strong cover letters and demonstrated abilities to bring a unique perspective to the Senate. Expressed concern that the Amlan re-submit the same application as last year without improvement or updates. BRANDWEIN: Agreed with Yabut. SIVAKUMARAN: Agreed that Amlan's cover letter is weak. DEGRANO: Expressed concern that the Committee has only considered men	
2021-02/3c	CARRIED University Senate YABUT: Suggested selecting Kyle, Milan, and Tamid given their strong cover letters and demonstrated abilities to bring a unique perspective to the Senate. Expressed concern that the Amlan re-submit the same application as last year without improvement or updates. BRANDWEIN: Agreed with Yabut. SIVAKUMARAN: Agreed that Amlan's cover letter is weak. DEGRANO: Expressed concern that the Committee has only considered men thus far. Proposed selecting Maddie.	

BRANDWEIN: Volunteered.

YABUT: Volunteered.

2021-02/3d Student Group Committee

YABUT: Suggested selecting Daniella based on her comprehensive student group experience. Suggested that Marcus and Qiaochu, have sincere and well-researched cover letters. Expressed concern that Kayla's letter appears immature.

DEGRANO: Expressed concern that Kayla and Marcus have no experience on campus or with student groups and are still in high school.

VILLOSO: Agreed with Degrano.

DEGRANO: Identified that, according to Bylaw 100, two of the members being appointed have to be student group executives but this was not stated in the application.

YABUT: Proposed selecting Daniela and extending the deadline.

YABUT/DEGRANO MOVED to select Daniela Carbajal for interviews to Student Group Committee. CARRIED

2021-02/3e Sustainability Committee

MONTEIRO: Noted that Moustafa could be a good candidate given that he is an international student.

BRANDWEIN: Proposed appointing Megan given that she is working toward a Certificate in Sustainability.

YABUT: Agreed with Brandwein.

VILLOSO: Proposed selecting Yousuf given that he has experience working in EcoCar.

SIVAKUMARAN: Agreed with Villoso.

VILLOSO/DEGRANO MOVED to appoint Megan Uglem, Yousuf Iqbal, Rucha Patel, and Mustafa Jaswal to Sustainability Committee. CARRIED

2021-02/3f Sustainability Capital Fund Committee

VILLOSO: Noted that Justin and Madeleine served on the Committee last year.

YABUT: Suggested that the Committee look to appoint at least one returning member to ensure continuity and institutional memory.

BRANDWEIN: Inquired as to the workload for the Committee.

VILLOSO: Responded that the workload is not excessive and comes in waves when the Committee adjudicates Green Fund applications.

SIVAKUMARAN: Proposed selecting Madeleine.

YABUT: Noted that Yousuf could bring a unique perspective given his background serving as part of the Robotics Club.

VILLOSO: Agreed with Yabut.

VILLOSO/YABUT MOVED to appoint Yousuf Iqbal, Madeleine Tupper, Justin Morlock, and Mehrin Hoque to Sunsability Capital Fund Committee. CARRIED

2021-02/4 INFORMATION ITEMS

2021-02/5 ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 12:16pm.

SUMMARY OF MOTIONS

ΜΟΤΙΟΝ	VOTES
YABUT/BRANDWEIN MOVED to appoint Danielle Lapatack to Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation Committee.	CARRIED
DEGRANO/YABUT MOVED to appoint Sophia Estrada and Veronica Ortiz-Zelada to Translation Committee.	CARRIED
YABUT/DEGRANO MOVED to select Daniela Carbajal for interviews to Student Group Committee.	CARRIED
VILLOSO/YABUT MOVED to appoint Yousuf Iqbal, Madeleine Tupper, Justin Morlock, and Mehrin Hoque to Sustainability Capital Fund Committee.	CARRIED

VILLOSO/DEGRANO MOVED to appoint Megan Uglem, Yousuf Iqbal, Rucha Patel, and Mustafa Jaswal.	CARRIED
VILLOSO/YABUT MOVED to appoint Yousuf Iqbal, Madeleine Tupper, Justin Morlock, and Mehrin Hoque to Sunsability Capital Fund Committee.	CARRIED