

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Tuesday, January 10, 2017 6:00PM SUB 0-48

We would like to acknowledge that our University and our Students' Union are located on Treaty 6 Territory. We are grateful to be on Dene, Cree, Saulteaux, Métis, Blackfoot, and Nakota Sioux territory; specifically the ancestral space of the Papaschase Cree. These Nations are our family, friends, faculty, staff, students, and peers. As members of the University of Alberta Students' Union we honour the nation-to-nation treaty relationship. We aspire for our learning, research, teaching, and governance to acknowledge continuing colonial violence and respect Indigenous knowledges and traditions.

AGENDA (NC 2017-03)

2017-03/1	INTRODUCTION
2017-03/1a	Call to Order
2017-03/1b	Approval of Agenda
2017-03/1c	Approval of Minutes
2017-03/1d	Chair's Business
2017-03/2	QUESTION/DISCUSSION PERIOD
2017-03/2a	Student At Large members on NomCom
2017-03/2b	Upcoming Nominations
2017-03/3	COMMITTEE BUSINESS
2017-03/3a	Nominations to fill GFC Vacancies
2017-03/4	INFORMATION ITEMS
2017-03/4a	NC-2017-02, Meeting Minutes
	See NC-2017-03.01
2017-03/5	<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>
2017-03/5a	Next Meeting: TBD



University of Alberta Students' Union

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Tuesday, July 11, 2017 6:00PM SUB 6-06

ATTENDANCE

NAME	PROXY	PRESENT	SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN FEEDBACK (IF ABSENT)
Shane Scott (Ex-Officio Chair)		Y	
Emily Howell		Y	
Kara Farris		Y	
Srosh Hassan	Nicole Jones	N	N
Mitch Wilson		Y	
James Thibaudeau		Y	
Reed Larsen (Ex-Officio)		Y	

MINUTES (NC 2017-02)

2017-02/1 INTRODUCTION

2017-02/1a Call to Order

MEETING CALLED TO ORDER AT 6:09PM.

2017-02/1b Approval of Agenda

JONES/FARRIS MOVE to approve the agenda.

2017-02/1c Approval of Minutes

SCOTT TABLES approval of the NC-2017-01 minutes.

2017-02/1d Chair's Business

SCOTT reminds Nominating Committee members that any discussion regarding candidates' credentials will be confidential. The minutes will also be edited to

reflect this.

2017-02/2 QUESTION/DISCUSSION PERIOD

2017-02/3 COMMITTEE BUSINESS

2017-02/3a SCOTT MOVES to appoint two (2) Undergraduate students-at-large to the Green and Gold Student Leadership and Professional Development Grant Adjudication Committee.

During the meeting: **SCOTT TABLES** this motion, as the committee received no applications for these positions.

20/07/2017 (via e-mail): **SCOTT/LARSEN NOMINATE** Renee Anielski and Emma Ripka to the Green & Gold Student Leadership & Professional Development Grant Adjudication Committee.

4/1/0. CARRIED. HOWELL ABSTAINS. The vote for WILSON was not received.

2017-02/3b SCOTT MOVES to appoint three (3) Undergraduate students-at-large to the Health & Dental Plan Committee.

SCOTT (summarized): The Health and Dental plan is overseen (in part) by the Health and Dental Committee whose responsibilities include;

- Setting the direction and policy structure for the delivery of the Health and Dental Plan
- Responsible for providing feedback to the health care provider, Studentcare regarding communications, coverage service and all the components related to the plan
- Reviews and approves any benefits or premium changes and acts as the approval or reviewing body for any appeals, claims, exemptions and special requests made by students

The committee typically meets 3 to 4 times a year.

SCOTT/THIBAUDEAU MOVE TO APPOINT Michelle Kim, John Johnson, Mao Ding.

7/0/0. CARRIED.

2017-02/4 INFORMATION ITEMS

2017-02/5 ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 6:25PM.

2017-02/5a Next Meeting: TBD

MOTION TRACKER

MOTION	VOTES	
JONES/FARRIS MOVE to approve the agenda.	7/0/0, CARRIED.	
SCOTT/LARSEN NOMINATE Renee Anielski and Emma Ripka to the Green & Gold Student Leadership & Professional Development Grant Adjudication Committee.	7/1/0, CARRIED. HOWELL abstains.	
SCOTT/THIBAUDEAU MOVE TO APPOINT Michelle Kim, John Johnson, Mao Ding.	7/0/0, CARRIED.	